2007 Wembley


ROC winnerMattias Ekström
ROC finalistMichael Schumacher
ROC semi-finalistsAndy Priaulx, Sébastien Bourdais
ROC Nations Cup winnersGermany (Michael Schumacher/Sebastian Vettel)
ROC Nations Cup finalists Finland (Marcus Grönholm/Heikki Kovalainen)


The Race Of Champions celebrated its 20th edition by making a switch to London’s Wembley Stadium – but the event also staged a fitting memorial to rally legend Colin McRae following his death three months earlier. Led by his brother Alister, all the participating drivers paid tribute to the Scotsman who had been a regular competitor at The Race of Champions.

In the contest itself, Mattias Ekström proved he has the right stuff by retaining the title for the second year in a row. After his victory against Sébastien Loeb the previous year, this time it was the might of Michael Schumacher who had no answer for the Swede in the Grand Final.

In the ROC Nations Cup, Team Germany took the spoils for the very first time. But it was the youngster Sebastian Vettel who was forced to produce the goods after his more illustrious team-mate Schumacher lost the first heat of the final.

Vettel won the next two, even defeating Marcus Grönholm in the Finn’s own Ford world rally car in one of them, to secure the title for Germany.